Author Topic: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed  (Read 122 times)

Itay

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Hello,
I had a problem where Black Ops 3 wouldn't run. I own the game from Steam and when running the game it would appear in the task manager but it would never open.
After 2 days of trying to solve this issue, I've come to a conclusion that ReHIPS was the cause for some reason, as soon as I uninstalled ReHIPS the game ran with no issues whatsoever.
I find it weird that ReHIPS was the cause because I use it exclusively as a sandbox program, I've disabled protection.
I want to reinstall ReHIPS so I'm wondering if we can figure out a solution to this issue.
Thanks!

fixer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1467
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2019, 03:28:48 pm »
Hello.
Try to do the following:
1. Disable ReHIPS from Control Center.
2. If the issue is still there, stop ReHIPS Service by opening cmd and executing "net stop ReHIPSService".
3. If the issue is still there, stop ReHIPS driver by opening cmd and executing "net stop ReHIPSSrvc".
These 3 steps from lightest to hardest should stop ReHIPS completely, no need to uninstall it. And let me know which of the steps helped.
Thank you for your help.

Itay

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2019, 04:07:32 pm »
Disabling the ReHIPS service solves this issue.
I had to right click the ReHIPS icon in the Windows tray and quit the program before disabling the service. I forgot to do that at first and it froze my system.
I have a fair amount of games installed and BO3 is the only one to have issues with ReHIPS, it's weird  ???

Thank you very much! :)

fixer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1467
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2019, 07:54:46 pm »
Nothing to thank me for for now :) I have some ideas why it might fail. If I'm right, it should be fixed in the upcoming release. But probably some TeamViewer session will be required to make sure the problem is what I think is, if it's OK with you.
Thank you for your help.

Itay

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2019, 12:22:07 pm »
Quote
I have some ideas why it might fail. If I'm right, it should be fixed in the upcoming release.
That's great :)
Quote
But probably some TeamViewer session will be required to make sure the problem is what I think is, if it's OK with you.
I usually avoid remote control but I have no problem following your instructions and sending you the required data.
Just tell me what you need to know and how I can get it to you and I'd gladly do it.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2019, 12:51:00 am by Itay »

fixer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1467
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2019, 11:21:15 am »
No problem. Just need to check some things to make sure I give precise instructions. Will come back when ready.
Thank you for your help.

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2019, 05:44:42 pm »
Maybe related, same behaviour when using sandboxie with firefox and chrome/chromium-based browser version 76 and newer.

Stopping the ReHIPS service solves this issue.

Itay

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2019, 10:15:40 am »
Hi fixer, I've replied to your PM but I can't seem to find it in my sent items. Not sure whether it's a bug with the forum or if my PM was indeed not sent.
May you please confirm that you've received it? :)

fixer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1467
Re: Black Ops 3 (Steam edition) can not launch when ReHIPS is installed
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2019, 10:23:57 am »
Hello, Itay. Yup, received. To save it in the Outbox checkbox must be checked, it's cleared by default.