Author Topic: command lines -- HP printer  (Read 1207 times)

shmu26

  • Active Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 461
  • Win10 x64 latest stable
command lines -- HP printer
« on: August 28, 2016, 01:20:53 pm »
Hi, I am trying to get my HP officejet printer to stop generating prompts every time I print, but I might have approved a command line that is too global.
please see attachment and tell me if this is okay

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1120
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: command lines -- HP printer
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2016, 01:25:05 pm »
To give you an educated guess then remove this command line and show me the full command line and logs of rehips. Do it at least twice to have 2 copies of the cmd. When you get an alert from rehips don't whitelist something just say run once so we get the full idea.

shmu26

  • Active Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 461
  • Win10 x64 latest stable
Re: command lines -- HP printer
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2016, 01:35:26 pm »
I deleted the rule, and to my surprise, it printed without prompts.
I printed both from a file on the hard disk, and in chrome from a gmail attachment
so it seems that the other, more specific command lines that I have, for printer spool services, are sufficient.
I snapshotted them. They don't have wildcards and they look normal and safe to me.
tell me if you think otherwise.

EDIT: I think my mistake was when I got a prompt, I clicked on approve command line (that was right)
and I also clicked on always allow (that was wrong)
« Last Edit: August 28, 2016, 01:40:51 pm by shmu26 »

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1120
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: command lines -- HP printer
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2016, 01:46:26 pm »
Yeah, they are perfectly fine. Good job.

shmu26

  • Active Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 461
  • Win10 x64 latest stable
Re: command lines -- HP printer
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2016, 07:56:22 pm »
correction: I didn't know this at the time, but the command line I was questioning is actually installed by default, I didn't create it.

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1120
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: command lines -- HP printer
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2016, 07:58:31 pm »
correction: I didn't know this at the time, but the command line I was questioning is actually installed by default, I didn't create it.
Even better. Nice job devs.