Author Topic: [FAQ] When does ReHIPS install rules?  (Read 499 times)

fixer

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
[FAQ] When does ReHIPS install rules?
« on: September 24, 2018, 08:16:24 am »
Sometimes I get questions like "hey, I manually and deliberately deleted some rule X, but after a while I see it again, how come?". Let's talk about it.

At first I'd like to mention that it's generally not a good idea to delete a rule you don't need, better to set it to Blocked, it was already explained in one of previous blogposts here https://forum.rehips.com/index.php?topic=11838.0 Having this covered let's take a look at rules. As you already probably know ReHIPS comes with a set of predefined rules for RulesManager. These rules get installed when you install ReHIPS (that console-like looking window with running strings). But they are also installed on some other events. That's why you have the rule you previously deleted reinstalled.

So RulesManager installs rules when:
-ReHIPS is installed/reinstalled/updated to install/update rules for System and all logged-in users;
-a user request to reinstall rules is made, either from ReHIPS Control Center or from RulesManager;
-a new user is logged in to install rules for him;
-changes are detected in installed programs list to install rules for new programs, this one installs rules for all users or for the current user only depending on the location of the installed program, system-wide or user-wide.