Author Topic: svchost cpu usage  (Read 6121 times)

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
svchost cpu usage
« on: January 03, 2017, 05:24:50 pm »
I have little problem with svchost cpu usage after installing rehips

I just run process explorer and I noticed that svchost.exe (DcomLaunch) is using around 10 % CPU, after some testing I figured it started after I've installed rehips, so is this normal

cpu is i7-3610qm
security software: HMP.A (free - no anti-exploit), MBAE free, avast, wfc, sandboxie


ok tried to add rehips folder to exception (avast), still no change,
so I've tried to disable avast shields and reboot
And noticed that rehips gui won't start (forgot to check autostart after reinstall), svchost uses only 0.01 % CPU,
but after running HIPSGui64.exe, it will again use around 10 % even with avast disabled

« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 05:26:49 pm by Ozone »

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2017, 05:41:03 pm »
For logs click advanced mode. A log tab will show, click on that and then click on the save button.

Btw i assume you don't isolate browsers or anything with both rehips and sandboxie together right?

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2017, 05:57:10 pm »
nope I have to edit initial rules for chrome to be able to use it with sandboxie,
for firefox I use rehips when I need to

also each time I run rehips the log will be clean and it will show only
"time"  Connected to Local Server
"time"  Standard Mode activated

so should I wait more time to have more info, because right now there are only logs about how I saved log

btw
sandboxie is free so no forced folder or files

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2017, 06:00:47 pm »
nope I have to edit initial rules for chrome to be able to use it with sandboxie,
for firefox I use rehips when I need to

also each time I run rehips the log will be clean and it will show only
"time"  Connected to Local Server
"time"  Standard Mode activated

so should I wait more time to have more info, because right now there are only logs about how I saved log

btw
sandboxie is free so no forced folder or files
yeah wait a bit until you see the cpu usage happening for afew minutes.

Also not sure what you mean edited rules for chrome. What exactly did you change?

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2017, 06:01:35 pm »
it was set to run isolated so I have to change it to allow

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2017, 06:06:08 pm »
it was set to run isolated so I have to change it to allow
Ok then try running the browser not sandboxed and see if the cpu is the same.

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2017, 06:16:24 pm »
it's same even if I don't run anything, and log show nothing but process explorer still show that svchost has 10 % cpu usage
 to be sure if it's not caused by process explorer I tried process hacker and skins in rainmeter but still same

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2017, 06:18:28 pm »
it's same even if I don't run anything, and log show nothing but process explorer still show that svchost has 10 % cpu usage
 to be sure if it's not caused by process explorer I tried process hacker and skins in rainmeter but still same
Post the logs anw someone might see something useful.

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2017, 06:24:54 pm »
here is log

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2017, 06:30:29 pm »
here is log
I see dll host launching and terminating again and again. I believe it's sandboxie so any change you remove it or disable service and gui and see how that goes?

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2017, 06:41:36 pm »
disabled and process terminated but still same

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2017, 06:44:05 pm »
disabled and process terminated but still same
Does the ddl show up in the logs again and again?

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2017, 06:50:37 pm »
yeah
 dllhost.exe allowed and after few s terminated
« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 06:53:39 pm by Ozone »

aDVll

  • Active Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1119
  • Windows 10 latest 64 bit
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #13 on: January 03, 2017, 07:06:16 pm »
yeah
 dllhost.exe allowed and after few s terminated
To confirm can you enable lockdown mode and then exit rehips? After that check cpu usage.

Ozone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: svchost cpu usage
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2017, 07:11:38 pm »
cpu usage is 0.01
but as I said if HIPSGui64.exe is not running cpu usage is 0.01